August 23, 2016

26 Council candidates agree to keep rates down with Ratepayer Protection Pledge

The Auckland Ratepayers’ Alliance has released the list of candidates who have signed the Ratepayer Protection Pledge, which prevents those candidates from voting for any measures which increase the total average burden of rates, levies, and other compulsory Council charges, more than 2% per annum.

Who has signed the pledge?

To date, 26 candidates have agreed to sign the pledge. Those who have agreed to keep levy or rate hikes under 2% include all Communities and Residents candidates, and four mayoral candidates.

Although Auckland Future candidates have confirmed that they will not be signing our pledge, they insist that their own pledge achieves the same outcomes. Albany candidate Lisa Whyte said their pledge is ‘complementary to yours’ and that they are ‘committed to the same values’. Whilst disappointed Auckland Future candidates are not signing, we anticipate them holding fast to their assurances that they will limit annual rates increases to an average of no more than 2% and honour their own pledge.

We are delighted with the response from Council candidates. The 26 candidates that have signed the Ratepayer Protection Pledge alongside Auckland Future’s 10 candidates is more than enough to fill the Council with candidates who have agreed to reset Auckland Council’s culture of waste and high rates.

Where to from here? 

The Ratepayer Protection Pledge will help voters to make their decision in the local elections. We will also be publishing How to Vote guides closer to election day, to ensure voters are fully informed which candidates are committed to reasonable rates and sensible spending.

List of candidates who are on board:


  • Mark Thomas
  • John Palino
  • Stan Martin
  • Binh Thanh Nguyen


Albany Ward

  • John Watson
  • Wayne Walker


  • Christine Fletcher
  • Benjamin Lee
  • Greg McKeown
  • Bridgette Sullivan-Taylor


  • Dick Quax
  • Sharon Stewart
  • Ian Colin Ireland

North Shore

  • Grant Gillon
  • John Hill


  • Desley Simpson


  • Greg Sayers
  • Steven Garner
  • Holly Southernwood


  • John Riddell
  • David Rankin

Waitematā and Gulf

  • Mike Lee
  • Bill Ralston
  • Rob Thomas


  • Anne Degia-Pala
  • Duncan MacDonald


  • John Walker

Authorised by Auckland Ratepayers’ Alliance Ltd, Level 4, 117-125 St Georges Bay Road, Auckland